Current exhibition

LA DOLCE VITA

AVANT-GARDE ARTISTS IN POST-WAR ROME

20 October 2017 - 10 January 2018

After having devoted numerous exhibitions to the Milanese art scene of the 1960s, Tornabuoni Art Paris inaugurates a second journey into Italian art, with the exhibition La Dolce Vita: Avant-Garde Artists in Post-War Rome.

In the 1950s, Rome was recovering from the wounds of WWII. While this dark past was in the background, these were the years of the economic boom and rebuilding, that came with a strong desire to make the most of life and celebrate beauty after the horror of war and Fascism.. La Dolce Vita pays tribute to and documents this historical moment in Italian art with a selection of 40 museum-quality works, many – including those by Alberto Burri, Carla Accardi and Piero Dorazio – created between the 1950s and 1960s, and others made in the years following La Dolce Vita, by artists such as Jannis Kounellis and Mario Ceroli, directly inspired by their experiences of the Post-War Roman art scene.

The first group of artists presented in the exhibition, take the name of Forma 1, founded in 1947 by Carla Accardi, Piero Dorazio and Giulio Turcato. The group dissolved in 1951, but profoundly shaped twentieth-century Italian art. The year 1951 also saw the birth of the groupe Origine, of which Piero Dorazio was also a member. Maintaining many contacts with American artists such as Cy Twombly and Robert Rauschenberg, the group was founded by Alberto Burri, Giuseppe Capogrossi, Ettore Colla and Mario Ballocco. By the late 1950s, Italian Pop precursors emerged in Rome: Mimmo Rotella with his appropriation of street posters through layering, tearing and peeling; followed by the sculptures of Mario Ceroli. Italian Pop Art found its unity in the Roman group Scuola di Piazza del Popolo whose members included Tano Festa, Franco Angeli and Mario Schifano. This research and references to art history also influenced the work of Pino Pascali and Renato Mambor.

In the creative setting of Post-War Rome, artists such as Mario Ceroli and Jannis Kounellis embarked on more radical experiments. As a tribute to Jannis Kounellis, who died last February, the final exhibition hall will be dedicated to his monumental work Untitled from 1989.

fleche-avenir fleche-passe

Exposition en cours

LA DOLCE VITA

LES AVANT-GARDES DANS LA ROME D’APRÈS GUERRE

20 Octobre 2017 - 10 Janvier 2018

Après avoir consacré de nombreuses expositions à la scène artistique milanaise des années 1960 Tornabuoni Art inaugure son deuxième parcours dans l’art italien à travers cette exposition.

Dans les années 1950, Rome est une ville vivante qui se remet des souffrances de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Ce sont les années du boom économique, où l’on retrouve l’envie de vivre et de profiter de la beauté des choses. La Dolce Vita rend hommage et documente ce moment historique pour l’art européen de ces années à travers une sélection de 40 œuvres ayant déjà toutes été exposées dans des musées, dans la plupart des cas réalisées dans les années 1950 et 1960 (Burri, Accardi, Dorazio...), ou dans les années suivantes, mais dont la poétique et le langage dérivent directement de cette période (Kounellis, Ceroli).

Un premier groupe d’artistes se démarque en 1947, prenant le nom de Forma 1. Animé notamment par Carla Accardi, Piero Dorazio et Giulio Turcato. Le groupe se dissout en 1951, mais a marqué profondément l’art italien du xxe siècle. L’année 1951 est également celle de la naissance du groupe Origine, dont Piero Dorazio fut également membre. Entretenant de nombreux contacts avec les artistes américains comme Cy Twombly et Robert Rauschenberg, le groupe Origine est fondé par Alberto Burri, Giuseppe Capogrossi, Ettore Colla et Mario Ballocco. Dès la fin des années 1950 à Rome, on assiste également à la révélation des précurseurs de la scène Pop Italienne : Mimmo Rotella et ses célèbres décollages, puis d’autres artistes comme Mario Ceroli avec ses sculptures. La Pop romaine trouve son unité dans l’Ecole de Piazza del Popolo composée notamment de Tano Festa, Franco Angeli et Mario Schifano. Ces recherches et références à l’histoire de l’art influenceront également le travail de Pino Pascali et Renato Mambor.

Dans ce contexte d’émulation artistique, des artistes comme Mario Ceroli et Jannis Kounellis ont mené des expériences plus radicales. En hommage à Jannis Kounellis, décédé en février dernier, la dernière salle d’exposition est dédiée à son œuvre monumentale Untitled (1989).

fleche-avenir fleche-passe