Alberto Burri

Città di Castello 1915 – Nice 1995

The Italian painter and sculptor Alberto Burri was born in Città di Castello, near Perugia, on March 12, 1915. He is associated with the materialist current of the European movement of « Art informel »; he also had ties with Lucio Fontana’s spatialism and alongside Antoni Tàpies, had an influence on the renewal of post-war assemblage art (Robert Rauschenberg) in America and in Europe.

After graduating from medical school in 1940, Alberto Burri was captured by the allied forces in 1943 in Tunisia, and was subsequently sent to the Hereford camp in Texas, where he started painting landscapes.

His first solo exhibition took place in 1947. From 1949 on he used burlap as a substitute for canvas. In 1951, Alberto Burri participated in the creation of the Origine group, with Mario Balloco, Ettore Colla and Guiseppe Capogrossi, who rejected the decorative effects of abstract art and explored the permanence of constructive reflections, such as reducing color to its most simple – yet peremptory and incisive - function. In 1952, Burri participated in the Venice biennial. The following year he was exhibited at the Guggenheim Museum in New York.

Burri’s artistic production, which is organized in series bearing such names as Sacchi, Combustioni, Cellotex, Legni, Plastiche, or Ferri (Bags, Combustions, Cellotex, Woods, Plastics, Irons) develops a material meditation on form and its transformative process. Dissolved by fire, attacked by mold, corroded or consumed by time, the material of his works « gets ruined » in the same artistic gesture which transforms it, leaving a residual image, the production of which is exhibited in the work itself.

Alberto Burri was exhibited at the Musée National d’Art Moderne in Paris in 1972. In 1981 the Burri Foundation was inaugurated – a permanent collection of the works that the artist donated to his hometown.

He died in Nice in 1995.

The Italian painter and sculptor Alberto Burri was born in Città di Castello, near Perugia, on March 12, 1915. He is associated with the materialist current of the European movement of « Art informel »; he also had ties with Lucio Fontana’s spatialism and alongside Antoni Tàpies, had an influence on the renewal of post-war assemblage art (Robert Rauschenberg) in America and in Europe.

After graduating from medical school in 1940, Alberto Burri was captured by the allied forces in 1943 in Tunisia, and was subsequently sent to the Hereford camp in Texas, where he started painting landscapes.

His first solo exhibition took place in 1947. From 1949 on he used burlap as a substitute for canvas. In 1951, Alberto Burri participated in the creation of the Origine group, with Mario Balloco, Ettore Colla and Guiseppe Capogrossi, who rejected the decorative effects of abstract art and explored the permanence of constructive reflections, such as reducing color to its most simple – yet peremptory and incisive - function. In 1952, Burri participated in the Venice biennial. The following year he was exhibited at the Guggenheim Museum in New York.

Burri’s artistic production, which is organized in series bearing such names as Sacchi, Combustioni, Cellotex, Legni, Plastiche, or Ferri (Bags, Combustions, Cellotex, Woods, Plastics, Irons) develops a material meditation on form and its transformative process. Dissolved by fire, attacked by mold, corroded or consumed by time, the material of his works « gets ruined » in the same artistic gesture which transforms it, leaving a residual image, the production of which is exhibited in the work itself.

Alberto Burri was exhibited at the Musée National d’Art Moderne in Paris in 1972. In 1981 the Burri Foundation was inaugurated – a permanent collection of the works that the artist donated to his hometown.

He died in Nice in 1995.

  • Combustion, 1960, mixed media on canvas, 100 x 70 cm

Combustion, 1960, mixed media on canvas, 100 x 70 cm

Back to list



fleche-avenir fleche-passe

Alberto Burri

Città di Castello 1915 – Nice 1995

L'artiste peintre et sculpteur italien Alberto Burri naît à Città di Castello, près de Pérouse, le 12 mars 1915. Il est associé au courant matiériste du mouvement de l'art informel européen. Il entretint également des liens avec le spatialisme de Lucio Fontana et aura, avec Antoni Tàpies, une influence sur le renouveau de l'art de l'assemblage d'après-guerre en Amérique (Robert Rauschenberg) comme en Europe.

Diplômé de médecine en 1940, Alberto Burri est fait prisonnier par les alliés en 1943 en Tunisie, puis est envoyé au camp de Hereford au Texas, où il commence à peindre des paysages.

Sa première exposition personnelle a lieu en 1947. Dès 1949, il utilise la toile de jute comme substitut de la peinture. En 1951, Alberto Burri participe à la création du groupe Origine, avec Mario Balloco, Ettore Colla et Giuseppe Capogrossi, qui rejette les effets décoratifs de l'art abstrait, et prône la permanence d'un souci constructif, comme la réduction de la couleur à sa fonction la plus simple, mais péremptoire et incisive. En 1952, Burri participe à la Biennale de Venise. L'année suivante il expose au Musée Guggenheim de New York.

La production artistique de Burri, qui s’articule en séries prenant des noms comme Sacchi, Combustioni, Cellotex, Legni, Plastiche, ou Ferri, (Sacs, Combustions, Cellotex, Bois, Plastiques, Fers) développe une réflexion matérielle sur la forme et sur ses processus de transformation. La matière de ses œuvres "se ruine" dans le même geste artistique qui la transforme, laissant d’elle une image résiduelle dont le processus s’expose dans l’œuvre même.

Alberto Burri expose au Musée National d'Art Moderne de Paris en 1972. En 1981 a lieu l'inauguration de la Fondation Burri, une collection permanente des œuvres dont l'artiste a fait don à sa ville natale.

L'artiste peintre et sculpteur italien Alberto Burri naît à Città di Castello, près de Pérouse, le 12 mars 1915. Il est associé au courant matiériste du mouvement de l'art informel européen. Il entretint également des liens avec le spatialisme de Lucio Fontana et aura, avec Antoni Tàpies, une influence sur le renouveau de l'art de l'assemblage d'après-guerre en Amérique (Robert Rauschenberg) comme en Europe.

Diplômé de médecine en 1940, Alberto Burri est fait prisonnier par les alliés en 1943 en Tunisie, puis est envoyé au camp de Hereford au Texas, où il commence à peindre des paysages.

Sa première exposition personnelle a lieu en 1947. Dès 1949, il utilise la toile de jute comme substitut de la peinture. En 1951, Alberto Burri participe à la création du groupe Origine, avec Mario Balloco, Ettore Colla et Giuseppe Capogrossi, qui rejette les effets décoratifs de l'art abstrait, et prône la permanence d'un souci constructif, comme la réduction de la couleur à sa fonction la plus simple, mais péremptoire et incisive. En 1952, Burri participe à la Biennale de Venise. L'année suivante il expose au Musée Guggenheim de New York.

La production artistique de Burri, qui s’articule en séries prenant des noms comme Sacchi, Combustioni, Cellotex, Legni, Plastiche, ou Ferri, (Sacs, Combustions, Cellotex, Bois, Plastiques, Fers) développe une réflexion matérielle sur la forme et sur ses processus de transformation. La matière de ses œuvres "se ruine" dans le même geste artistique qui la transforme, laissant d’elle une image résiduelle dont le processus s’expose dans l’œuvre même.

Alberto Burri expose au Musée National d'Art Moderne de Paris en 1972. En 1981 a lieu l'inauguration de la Fondation Burri, une collection permanente des œuvres dont l'artiste a fait don à sa ville natale.

  • Combustion, 1960, techniques mixtes sur toile, 100 x 70 cm

Combustion, 1960, techniques mixtes sur toile, 100 x 70 cm

Revenir à la liste



fleche-avenir fleche-passe